Sink or swim

So the last week of prac arrives and I am shaking in my boots, as I have been given the WHOLE WEEK to plan and teach. God Help me! 

I did say yes to my mentor to take up this challenge, sink or swim right? However the monster of fear is starting to creep in…. 

Can I really swim? Can I really handle the various behaviour management dilemmas that I have seen my mentor successfully embark? 

I guess I shall know the answer to these questions very soon.

I was reading Caitlin’s blog, how she is finding it difficult to adapt to the surroundings of primary school compared to early childhood. I would have to agree with her, I feel like I have missed a gap in my progress somewhere.

For example, last week I was super excited to be doing a geography lesson for my preppies, I implemented my awesome geographical inquiry lesson from uni. However I bomb dived very quickly, as I was talking to them about man-made and constructed features(which they had no idea of the meaning of these words). It was then that I realised the difference between the uni world lessons for assignments and the real world lessons for school students.

I did come across this ICT learning program that the school uses Broadlearn Early Learning, which all the students engaged in as it could be differentiated to allow all students to be learning and stretched. I hope that the last week of prac is a wonderful finish for all my fellow bloggers

Enjoy the journey!

2 thoughts on “Sink or swim

Leave a comment